Bee crossed tomato with extreme vigor

I have questions about how to best proceed with a tomato cross that happened randomly in my garden years ago. I have a huge amount of Indian Stripe tomato seeds and grow them yearly to sell. About 10% of the seeds that germinate are a regular regular leaf plant that grows 2 to 3 times faster than any other tomato plants that I grow. I have yet to plant these tomatoes as I typically cull them as soon as they get true leaves. I have transplanted some, but never had room to plant them. I don’t even know what kind of tomatoes they produce. My question is do they grow so rapidly because of hybrid vigor? And what would be the best way to proceed with stabilizing the variety should it be something worth keeping? I assume it would slowly lose hybrid vigor every generation? Sorry, I’m new to this and in general don’t care much about breeding tomatoes, as I grew them for so long I dislike them somewhat and really only eat melons, peppers, cowpeas, and okra.
Thanks for any help.

I recommend the Open Source Plant Breeding forum for discussions about stabilizing tomatoes.

You might explore the new hybrids. See if you like the flavor and productivity. If a variety has great ancestors, it is likely to be great itself.

You might love the hybrids, just as they are without stabilizing them. Perhaps you’ll love the hybrids so much that you’ll stop growing Indian Stripe.

1 Like

Ok Joseph, still trying to navigate this new forum. I don’t really grow tomatoes to eat anymore, just for saving or seedling selling purposes.

I think that the flavor of red tomatoes is ghastly. I’m selecting strongly for orange colored tomatoes, because they consistently win taste testing trials. And the fruity flavors of the promiscuous tomatoes really please me.

Wait, are you saying your normal Indian Stripe are potato leaf?

That is possible, but many or most Indian Stripe may be regular leaf. Though I’ve never grown the variety.