Selection Celebration-- share photos of your bugs, molds, blight, and slugs

How did the the bugs and diseases teach your plants how to be strong in during the past growing season?

Was it hard to watch it happen without saving every plant?

I’m working on a few ppt slides and getting a bit tired of my own photos…

Extra special would be photos that show healthy and susceptible plants of the same species in the same photo.

2 Likes

In my cabbage rows if a plant died I would replace it with a miniature marigold plant. As the season progressed I noticed the cabbages with marigolds near them did not have as many butterfly larva on them. Of course I had 150 cabbages so they could avoid the marigolds. I didn’t take pictures. I’m planning to really test it this year. So I’ll let you know.

2 Likes

I don’t have a ton to say without thinking this over because til now I don’t keep good documentation. I’m also new to thinking about gardening in this way, and in the great scheme of things new to gardening. But I’d like to see more on this thread. I’m sure many growers here aren’t trying to actively manage pests.

We’ve had at least one tunneling critter in the garden at least two seasons now, despite barriers intended to keep them out. Seems likely based on what they’ve done and the size of the tunnels that they are voles or vole-adjacent. Moles are another good possibility - - our property and the surrounding land is full of them, but they don’t eat plants.

The tunneling, root-nibbling, and of late even leaf-nibbling (another critter?) means that these conditions may have selected for any of the following:

• resiliency to [root] damage
  • impalability to varmints at one or more stages of growth
  • shallow spreading roots over deep ones (less probability of growing into a tunnel)
  • quickly growing, aggressive roots that may grow deeply, that the varmints dislike enough to tunnel around. Mustard did well this past season. Wish I had more use for horseradish…