Staple crops that thrive in wetland environment

I’m working on several projects: I’ve been growing potato onions from seeds for a couple years and I’m planning to continue working on this project this year. I’m also working on landracing fava beans. started this project last year and will continue working on it this year. I’d like to start a few new projects this year: getting some garlic to produce true seeds and growing potato from TPS. I’d also like to landrace dry bush beans, runner beans, dry peas, kale and hot pepper. My goal is to grow reliable staple crops that keeps taste great, thrive with little input in my wetland zone 5b/6a and keeps well. Anybody else is in a wetland or a very humid growing zone and has already landraced some of those crops?

1 Like

What are your temperatures like during your main growing season? I ask because that may be just as important to find a good match for your climate as average soil moisture and humidity.

1 Like

Hi Emily,
Our average summer high is 68 degrees Fahrenheit. We live in a very temperate area, on the coast so there is cool moisture year round.

Pam

4 Likes

Temperatures during end of spring and summer are around high 70/ low 80s. Humidity is the real issue for me as I get a lot of fungal diseases even when planting on higher ground. This year, we had a major drought and it was my best year ever because it was so less humid than usual.

When I started gardening I was living in 5b - the two crops that worked incredibly well were Egyptian walking onions (very similar to potato onions, might be interesting to try to cross them?) and kale of all types which I was able to have year round.

Hello Anphlo, i love how people are landracing in all of these differing extreme circumstances.
I guess you get quite some shade as well.
Concerning landracing kale include Russian Red Kale, it’s hard as nails. Sea Kale can grow in semi shade.