Sweet Corn Project Mississippi

It was at this moment I was convinced to grow sweet corn.

Someone from a Northeastern state in the USA sent me a Northern sweet corn mix adapted to zone 5. This is less than half of what I received. This person was very generous:

I won’t let it go to waste. I am planting today and early. I hope this northern mix has what it takes to get an early start on the season over here.

I’ve never grown corn before. I plan to plant tightly and thin some of them out later. I guess I will try to assist pollination whenever I can by shaking the plants or something.

4 Likes

Plant thickly, don’t bother thinning.

4 Likes

Even better, sounds like less work

1 Like

While I’m a bit of a novice at maize, my general approach (used successfully with favas, mustard, corn and squash) is to initially plant thickly without thinning. This quickly establishes which plants have the best overall vigour and competitive tendencies. And I’m not after food in the first couple of years, so don’t need a whole lot of seed to go on with.
It’s a bit of a trade off - you still want enough plants to contribute to the genepool, while (self)eliminating the weaklings.

2 Likes

I am glad it could inspire you.

1 Like

I’ve been running behind schedule. I have an image attached showing where the corn is being planted. Also, the corn has been sitting in rainwater since yesterday.

I am also wanting to show my practice of shoveling dirt from the pathways to the beds. I do this 1 to 2 times per year. The rain gradually brings it down and I put it back. I think the pathways inherit some nutrients as well, so that goes back to the top. Essentially, I am growing in turned over subsoil I think.

I just finished the shoveling. Now I am about to smooth it over with a rake and then start putting the seeds in the ground. It feels so good out here. It’s currently 64 degrees F or 17.8 C, party cloudy. The birds are singing and the bees are buzzing.

2 Likes