Swamp rose mallow - hibiscus moscheutos - perennial flowers - okra and spinach too?

Note: I’m going to draw on Wikipedia as a source: Hibiscus moscheutos - Wikipedia

This thread is about a species native to my area I have been studying since spring 2023. I’m considering it for my own consumption as well as possibly offering it as seed or a nursery plant. As of May 2024, all signs are positive that this will be a good addition to my garden, but these it’s still undecided.

Hibiscus moscheutos, the swamp rose mallow, can be found growing wild or feral in the damp floodplains of the valleys within 4 or 5 miles of our farm in Eastern Kentucky. These areas along the creeks in the valleys/hollows/hollers are also the places in this region where people have built homes and farmed for thousands of years. So there are often wild populations growing near modern homes.

To my knowledge people here do not plant it as a crop or forage it. Sometimes there are what I assume are ornamental cultivars that are close to modern houses, but the wild populations I have found all seem to have relatively consistent characteristics like size, habit, and flower color.

It can’t be found in every valley, but I have found similar populations dotted here and there across an area of 100 miles.

Uses

According to many sources, and reflected in the Wikipedia article, the edible parts of the plant include its leaf buds and young leaves, flowers, immature seed pods (which can be prepared as okra), seeds, and roots.

The leaves and roots are known to contain mucilage. Tea from boiled leaves has been used to relieve cough, sore throat, and digestive inflammation. These medicinal attributes of the tea have been used to treat dysentery, lung ailments, and urinary infections. An infusion of dried stalks has been used to treat bladder infections. Hibiscus moscheutos flowers have also been used externally to reduce swelling and pain from bruises and insect stings.

5 Likes