Winter gardening in a wet, soggy climate

(Stares with exasperation at the weather forecast.)

Okay, this is not something I would have expected to apply to me, but I think I need advice about growing plants in a super wet climate. Specifically, cool weather crops.

I knew winter was our rainy season, but this is my first year trying a winter garden, and I’m starting to notice that we get rain or snow about 20 days out of every month in the winter. It doesn’t evaporate, either, because it’s cold. And while the ground freezes solid at night fairly often, it’s usually above freezing during the day. So our winter soil is almost always slick, wet, soggy mud.

If I want to overwinter bananas here, which don’t like soggy soil, I’m going to need to advice about how to help plants survive through soggy soil that normally don’t like it.

Meanwhile, many of my overwintering brassicas have mold on the leaves, which makes me think they’re not too happy about the overabundance of water either.

. . . Sheesh.

It just goes to show that growing conditions can be completely different in the same climate depending on what season it is.

I’m starting to wonder if it might be a good idea to put my winter crops under a hoop house, not to protect them from cold, but to protect them from rain on their leaves.

Would that help?

Any other ideas?

I’d love some advice from people who grow winter crops in a climate that has really rainy winters.

2 Likes

I spent a bunch of time gardening in the PNW, which pretty much rains 8 months of the year through the winter. My soils were mostly pretty dense and slow-draining. Some thoughts:

Raised beds or gentle slopes are good, anything that can let the water run off and oxygen enter the soil.