2024 Cucumber

2024 Cucumbers
I had helped start a swarm by adding every variety I had on hand and from multiple heirloom seed companies. I did include slicing types and pickling types together, and various colors. Orange, green, white varieties of cucumbers are mixed as well as the seed contributions from growers in our seed community.
However, now I’m thinking the slicing and pickling types could be split up and devoted to the specific culinary uses.
What should we do?
Ive been gardening for many years and can seperate the two types at harvest depending if I’m making a salad or a batch of dill pickles. We taste test everything and cucumbers are often rated for that bitter aftertaste or the spines on the skin. I do select for sweet cucumbers and medium tender skin.
I must report more than half of my first planting was destroyed by curious dogs who pawed through the fence and broke off 3/4 of the plants.
Has anyone planted cucumbers?

I can’t replant until fall when the soil temps are back to about 80 degrees.
I direct seed into the ground and have better germination and growing of plants than by using plug trays or containers. My soil is strictly organic and I amend with earth worm castings and composted wood chips.

3 Likes

8a/8b. Mixed GTS with trades with farmers and an old packet of seed I found. Direct sown. I’m down to just three plants. Now it’s a race to see if they can fruit before the oppressive heat sets in. We are already in the 90s so they are not in the good zone.

2 Likes

Yikes! But I’m in a similar situation, I had 50 seeds planted next to the fence for a trellis, but down to 11 plants. But I can grow again starting late July or August. Hoping I get a few cucumbers for seed.

2 Likes